Call to reveal ALL funding behind climate sceptics

Published by: Nell Crowden on 18th Feb 2012 | View all blogs by Nell Crowden

Statement from climate scientists and health professionals:

Call to reveal ALL funding behind climate sceptics

What motivates the Heartland Institute? As climate and other scientists and health professionals, we view the systematic sowing of unjustified doubt about mainstream international climate science as confusing at best, and inhumane at worst. The Hippocratic Oath, the values of which generations of health professionals have adhered to, declares ‘first, do no harm’. In 2009, The Lancet declared, "climate change is the biggest global health threat of the twenty-first century". Healthcare professionals have a duty to protect patients from disease and environmental harm. Biomedical treatment is just one form of healthcare. Public health professionals study relationships between climate change, sustainability, human health, carbon, physiology, and weather events. Scientific evidence demonstrates that sustainable development can bring with it health benefits, making it a win-win scenario (Lancet, November 2009). We only have a few years to drastically reduce our greenhouse gas emissions to avert dangerous climate change. Given the disproportionate influence given to climate sceptics by the media, it is in the public, national, and global interest for all funding behind their activities to be revealed. This will help people to make up their own minds about the truth of the climate change threat, so that action can be planned on the basis of evidence rather than confusion.

Signed by:


Professor Chris Rapley CBE, Professor of Climate Science, University College London


Dr. Jim Hansen, Climatologist, Columbia University

Anthony J. McMichael AO, FTSE

Professor of Population Health, and NHMRC Australia Fellow

The Australian National University

Professor Tim O'Riordan OBE, DL, FBA


Corinne Le Quéré,

Professor of Climate Change Science and Policy


Professor Martin McKee CBE MD DSc

Professor of European Public Health, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Professor Sue Atkinson CBE

Visiting Professor, Department of Epidemiology and Public Health, University College London


Professor Sir Andy Haines,

Professor of Public Health and Primary Care, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Jonathan Patz, MD, MPH
Professor and Director, Global Health Institute
University of Wisconsin

Dr Andrea Forde 
Public Health Physician, Visiting Fellow Australian National University 

Dr Richard Jaine, BSc MBChB MPH FNZCPHM
Senior Lecturer and Public Health Medicine Specialist
Department of Public Health, University of Otago


Emeritus Professor of Environmental Technology,

Centre for Environmental Strategy, University of Surrey


Walter Wehrmeyer MA PhD MIEMgt CEnv FRSA

Centre For Environmental Strategy, University of Surrey


Ove Hoegh-Guldberg, 

Professor and Director, 

Global Change Institute, 

University of Queensland


Dr. Robin Stott,

Physician, (retired)


Michael Moore 

CEO, Public Health Association of Australia


Professor Anthony Capon MBBS PhD FAFPHM

Head, Discipline of Public Health, Faculty of Health

University of Canberra

Professor Paul Ekins

Professor of Energy and Environment Policy

UCL Energy Institute, University College London

Chris France

Professor of Environmental Technology

Director of the IDC in Sustainability for Engineering & Energy Systems

University of Surrey

Dr Jamie Hosking
Senior Research Fellow
University of Auckland

Dr Rebecca Randerson
General Practitioner/Lecturer
Wellington New Zealand

Professor John Wiseman
Professorial Fellow
Melbourne Sustainable Society Institute
University of Melbourne

Fiona Armstrong

Dr George Laking 
Consultant Medical Oncologist
Auckland District Health Board

Doug Sellman MBChB, PhD, FRANZCP, FAChAM, 
Professor, University of Otago, New Zealand

Associate Professor Richard Milne PhD, MRSNZ
School of Population Health
University of Auckland

Dr Peter Tait, RACGP General Practitioner of the Year 2007, Canberra

Dr Sudhvir Singh MBChB BMedSci
Waitemata District Health Board

Dr. Catherine Brogan MBBS FFPHM
Chief Executive
Public Health Action Support Team CIC

Dr Graeme Lindsay, FNZCPHM

OraTaiao: New Zealand Climate & Health


Dr Vivian Fu, MBChB, medical registrar


Dr Alex Macmillan MBChB, MPH

Senior Lecturer Environmental Health, School of Population Health, University of Auckland and OraTaiao, NZ Climate and Health

Monique Decortis

Dr Scott Metcalfe
Chief Advisor Population Medicine, public health physician
Co-Convenor, OraTaiao: New Zealand Climate and Health


Joanna Santa Barbara


Research Associate, University of Otago


Stephan Lewandowsky

Australian Professorial Fellow

School of Psychology

University of Western Australia


Russell Tregonning MBChB, FRACS, FNZOA.
Orthopaedic Surgeon and Senior Lecture,

University of Otago

Forbes McGain
Anaesthetist and Intensive Care Physician
Western Health, Victoria

Dr Susie Burke, Senior Psychologist, Public Interest, Environment & Disaster Response, Australian Psychological Society

Dr Bronwyn Wauchope, Clinical Psychologist

Colin Axon, Senior Research Fellow, School of Engineering and Design, Brunel University, UK 



Please login or sign up to post on this network.
Click here to sign up now.